Johnson and Ghani join DfT

Latest people news from Local Transport Today 739

19 Jan 2018 (provided by Local Transport Today)

Johnson and Ghani join DfT

Jo Johnson has been appointed minister of state at the DfT and minster for London. Johnson, the MP for Orpington, was minister of state for universities. He replaces John Hayes. Nusrat Ghani has joined the DfT as a parliamentary under secretary of state. She is MP for Wealden in East Sussex. 

Lyons is Mott MacDonald transport professor

Glenn Lyons (pictured) has been appointed the Mott MacDonald professor of future mobility at the University of the West of England (UWE) in Bristol. The appointment marks Lyons’ return to the transport sector full-time. Appointed professor of transport & society at UWE in 2002, since 2010 he has also served as associate dean for research and enterprise in the faculty of environment and technology. Lyons will work for Mott MacDonald half-time. Separately, he is working with consultant SYSTRA on a project for Transport Scotland, developing a scenario planning tool and process for the new national transport strategy. 

Lamb joins Thurrock

John Lamb has joined Thurrock Council as interim assistant director – Lower Thames Crossing. The Government is planning a new road tunnel under the Thames, which will hit land in Thurrock. The council opposes the crossing but wants to see mitigation measures including more tunnelling if the project proceeds. Lamb runs JL?Executive Solutions, providing interim directorships and consultancy. 

Maxwell leads DfT rail projects

Clive Maxwell is the DfT’s new director-general for high-speed and major rail projects, including East West Rail, Northern Powerhouse Rail, and Crossrail 2. He was director-general for energy transformation in the Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy and was Office of Fair Trading chief executive (2012 to 2014), and the Treasury’s director of financial stability during the financial crisis of 2007-2009. 

Job share for DfT rail DG

Polly Payne and Ruth Hannant have been appointed joint director-generals of the DfT’s rail group. They have job-shared for the last seven years, including as directors of higher education reform at the Department for Education and directors of strategy and growth at the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

Vorotovic joins PTV from TfL

Vladamir Vorotovic has joined German modelling and data firm PTV Group as head of new mobility solutions. He was lead modelling specialist at Transport for London.

HS2 Ltd poaches HE’s Poole

David Poole is joining HS2 Ltd as procurement and supply chain director. He is currently Highways England’s executive director for procurement and commercial. 

Hoare is Atkins UK chief

Atkins has appointed Philip Hoare chief executive of its UK and Europe region. Hoare has led Atkins’ UK and European transportation division since 2014. Divisional finance director Jamie Sharp will lead the UK and Europe transportation business for an interim period. Atkins was bought by SNC-Lavalin last year (LTT 07 Jul 17). 

Kearns leads SYSTRA’s UK ops  

SYSTRA?has appointed Tony Kearns operations director – UK engineering, and operations director for Northern Europe (the UK, Scandinavia, Benelux countries and Poland). He joins from WSP, where he was operations director, rail and transit. 

Higgitt launches consultancy

Martin Higgitt has set up sustainable transport consultancy Martin Higgitt Associates Ltd. He was SYSTRA’s market director – sustainable travel and transport. 

Deegan advises city’s mayor 

Brian Deegan has been appointed healthy streets advisor to the mayor of Leicester, Peter Soulsby. Deegan is also a design engineer at Urban Movement and was a principal technical specialist at Transport for London. 

Chapman is FTA’s urban chief

Natalie Chapman has been appointed head of south of England and urban policy at the Freight Transport Association. She was the FTA’s head of policy – London. 

One more year for Glaister

Stephen Glaister has agreed to serve one more year as chair of the Office of Rail and Road. A new chair will take over in 2019.

< Back