Kelly is DfT's new permanent secretary

Latest people news from Local Transport Today 721

28 Apr 2017 (provided by Local Transport Today)

Kelly is DfT's new permanent secretary

Bernadette Kelly (pictured) has been appointed the DfT’s new permanent secretary following Philip Rutnam’s move to become permanent secretary at the Home Office (LTT 31 Mar). Kelly joined the DfT in September 2015 as director general of the rail group. Before that she was director general for business and local growth at the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills. 

Wilson joins Tees Valley from NECA

Mark Wilson has joined the Tees Valley Combined Authority as head of transport policy. He was head of transport policy at the North East Combined Authority. Helen Mathews, head of corporate planning at Nexus, has been appointed interim head of transport policy at NECA.

Bowkett joins Arcadis from Peter Brett

Helen Bowkett has joined consultant Arcadis as a senior technical director from Peter Brett Associates where she was a senior associate.

Mudhar joins M-EC

Amrit Mudhar has joined M-EC Consulting Development Engineers as a senior transport planner from Peter Brett Associates, where she was a senior transport planner. 

Turfitt named Senior Traffic Commissioner

Transport minister John Hayes has appointed Richard Turfitt as Senior Traffic Commissioner. Turfitt is the traffic commissioner for the East of England and will take on the additional duties on 1 June from Beverley Bell, who is retiring. Traffic commissioners are responsible for the regulation of bus, coach and goods vehicle operators, and the registration of local bus services.

Kraven is TAG’s new president

Alan Kraven will take over as president of the Local Government Technical Advisers Group (TAG) on 8 May. Kraven, a service development manager with FM Conway, succeeds Rob Gillespie, a service director at Ringway Hounslow Highways. John Lamb moves up to become TAG’s senior vice president. 

Pester succeeds Troy at BPA

Andrew Pester has been appointed chief executive of the British Parking Association, succeeding Patrick Troy who resigned in February for personal reasons.

< Back